Tangled — A shot in the arm that the “family movie” genre has been needing for quite some time.

I would not have seen this movie if it wasn’t for my girlfriend.  I’m glad she made me watch it because otherwise I would have passed on this completely.  Fantasy is a genre I dislike about ninety-nine percent of the time.  It has never appealed to me for a reason that even I am unclear of.  With that aside, I also think the marketing for this film shied a lot of critics (like me) away.  They made it seem too childish and didn’t make it seem as if they were trying to place it in the Disney Princess canon.  If they were to market it as part of that canon, I would have gone out of my way to see it.  Tangled definitely took me by surprise and it’s a shot in the arm the family movie genre has needed for quite some time.

Absorbing beauty.

If you’re planning to make a CGI movie, take note of Tangled.  Every, and I mean every, shot of this film is a work of art.  I have never seen something so damn pretty and computer generated at the same time before.  Frankly, I have been getting sick of animations like these but this is definitely the medium’s savior.  It’s not just the hair and the skin and the water and the clothes and the trees and the lights; it’s also the animation.  The animation in this is so fluid.  I have to say it’s practically life like.  For awhile, I thought maybe they used motion capture for majority of this film but looking at the “how they made it” feature in the extras, that doesn’t seem to be the case.  Instead, it was a lot of very hard and careful work.

Well done characters.

Even when you take the pretty graphics away, the story is A+ material.  For a fantasy movie, I felt the characters were believable and memorable, not just the heroine.  Flynn Rider.  The Stabbington Brothers.  Maximus.  Pascal.  Mother Gothel.  There weren’t too many or too little characters.  I thought that each even had just the right amount of screen time, not a bit wasted or needed.  They all played into the overarching theme of this movie: trust.  This is another thing that I applaud the writers of Tangled on.  Not many kid or family movies in the past few years really had an actual theme or message; most of them have been lacking in that department.  Tangled‘s writers were able to put it in the story and not make it either overbearing or just “kinda-sorta” there.

This scene would make anyone want to invest in a Blu-ray player and a big TV. Seriously

The only thing I think this movie falls short on is how some things resolve in the end.  It suffers from the “barely explainable” plot devices that most fantasy movies succumb to.  I will have to give Tangled some leeway on this though because it tries its hardest to avoid cliches and it is based on an age-old fairy tale where the belief in “magic” was commonplace.  All-in-all, Tangled is a great movie for kids and adults alike.  It is also, in my opinion, one of the best family films to come out in the past several years.

What would go great with this ?
Serve with…
Crispy Oven Fried Fish
http://www.howsweeteats.com/2011/04/a-good-fish-sandwich-with-chips/ (by the way, my girlfriend and I absolutely love this blog)
Accommodating beverage…
Black and tan.  It’s my comfort drink.

Rating:

Critic Value: 8/10

The theme may be nothing new but it was well done.  “Themes” are also something a lot of family and children movies have been lacking these past few years and Tangled gets props for bringing it back.

Quality Value: 10/10

Giving the artists one point less would be a crime.  My jaw dropped so hard from Tangled‘s beauty that it locked.

Entertainment Value: 9/10

It’s very rare that I give something from the fantasy genre more than a six or seven.  The beauty and the story worked so well together that my attention didn’t leave the screen once.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About alexb289

I'm a film hobbyist first, critic second.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

